Dawn of 2012


Happy New Year readers and artists!

It’s time that we reflect on 2011 and learn. This year, I plan on improving my health with exercise (a common resolution I know), growing my profession in fine art, and challenge myself in art school more to become something bigger. With this in mind and the “apocalypse” approaching (a little sarcasm), let’s talk about what is ahead.

On that note, I’d like to announce an upcoming show I will be participating in. Here is the press release:

Fulcrum Gallery Presents:

Dawn of  2012 (Emerging  Artists of 2012)

Jan 19th to March 10th

Opening Reception: Thursday January 19th 6-9 pm

Julian Pena

Kelsi Finney

Gabriel Brown

Kirsten Marie Pisto

Meghan Mitchell

Fulcrum Gallery ushers in 2012 with a prime selection of Tacoma artists. Selected for their creative sensibilities, use of materials, identity and overall tenacity within a hostile art environment.  Expect a spectrum of graphic, surrealistic and repurposed installation &   visual arts show of things to come.

Fulcrum Gallery

1308 Martin Luther King Jr. Way

Tacoma, WA 98405

Thurs, Fri & Sat 12-6 pm

T 253 250 0520

http://www.fulcrumtacoma.com

In the wake of supposed, Mayan prophecy of the end of the world dated for December 21st, 2012 has become a major influence in today’s popular culture. It contributed to my art in ways that would lead me to create a strong body of work concerning the beginning and the end, utopia and dystopia, life and death, and other dichotomy. In a way I would be channeling the apocalyptic work of John Martin, an English romantic painter. Throughout the history of mankind, there has been many apocalyptic time periods such as Y2K. The Mayan Calendar supposedly ending at the tail end of 2012, we can expect to see some major movements regardless of whether the rapture is coming or not.

London, UK

Image via Wikipedia

Looting, suicides, and murder intensifies in the presence of a potential catastrophe. The concept of the apocalypse can be seen as dichotomous itself, being the beginning of the end and the induction of the new. Personally, I don’t believe the world will end the end of this year. However, I am fully aware of the human impact on this world we live in. With that in mind, take an inventory of how you contribute to your world and take notice of the negative impact you may have caused. I look forward to a happy, wonderful 2012 and hope the same for all the readers! Again, Happy New Year and don’t spend time being afraid. Live life to its fullest, that way if the rapture does arrive you won’t regret the time wasted worrying.

The Destruction Of Sodom And Gomorrah, a paint...

Image via Wikipedia The Destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah, 1852

 

About Julian Peña

I'm a visual artist and student currently in progress to attaining a Bachelors of Fine Arts. I've been creating fantastical works of art since I was at the age of 13 years old. My work is transcendent beyond the material world and life itself. The paintings are polychromatic and visually exciting, while still maintaining a level of harmony. The subjects in many of these works of art may not exist at all despite what we perceive. It is a play on perception, an attempt to engage the viewers. I has earned numerous scholarships, participated in several group exhibitions, and already organized my own solo exhibition (CMYK, 2011). My meticulous and unique style is visually arresting. New ideas are constantly being examined and then visually communicated. Come check out my works at www.julianpena.com! I am is also currently part of the 253 Collective (a co-op) in downtown Tacoma. I currently live and work out of my loft in downtown Tacoma, WA.

Drop me a line!

