Getting Personal with the Camp 6 Movement


English: Skyline view of Tacoma, Washington

Image via Wikipedia

Check out my recent interview with Bryan Carroll, Stephen Jones, and JD Elquist from Camp 6 group here! This organization was founded very recently and I was requested by them to give me the opportunity to have them interview me as an artist. They host numerous events and parties in Tacoma and they promote the local community greatly. I admire their mission and believe their group will make a positive impact within our wild little city. Here’s an excerpt from their website: “Camp 6 is all about community. We are about promoting the merchants, style, and culture that makes our community what it is. We hope to inspire growth and understanding within our community to create energy that attracts people. We emphasis on local business’s and individual’s to allow for a connection our readers can relate too.” I got a chance to experience one of their initial dance parties held at The New Frontier in downtown Tacoma and it was a blast! My favorite part of the website is their style section. They’ll interview certain people with specific fashion styles, giving a new perspective in the unique style of Tacoma. Look for future events from Camp 6 by checking out their website (located below). If you would like to get engaged with the fashion, culture, and merchants in Tacoma get involved with the group!

To get your Camp 6 experience start here!

http://camp6tacoma.com/meet-julian-pena/

In the mean time, enjoy the two other reviews on the recent show “Dawn of 2012.”

Alec Clayton’s review at Weekly Volcano here.

http://www.weeklyvolcano.com/entertainment/visual-edge/2012/02/dawn-of-2012-show-emerges-at-fulcrum-gallery-tacoma/

Dave Davidson’s review at Tacoma Weekly here.

http://www.tacomaweekly.com/citylife/view/emerging-artists-featured-at-fulcrum-gallery/

Look for another future review by Tacoma News Tribune!

Mount Rainier over Tacoma, Washington, USA.

Image via Wikipedia

 

About Julian Peña

I'm a visual artist and student currently in progress to attaining a Bachelors of Fine Arts. I've been creating fantastical works of art since I was at the age of 13 years old. My work is transcendent beyond the material world and life itself. The paintings are polychromatic and visually exciting, while still maintaining a level of harmony. The subjects in many of these works of art may not exist at all despite what we perceive. It is a play on perception, an attempt to engage the viewers. I has earned numerous scholarships, participated in several group exhibitions, and already organized my own solo exhibition (CMYK, 2011). My meticulous and unique style is visually arresting. New ideas are constantly being examined and then visually communicated. Come check out my works at www.julianpena.com! I am is also currently part of the 253 Collective (a co-op) in downtown Tacoma. I currently live and work out of my loft in downtown Tacoma, WA.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Renaissance Remix at Tacoma Academy of Fine Art « Reply2Julian

Drop me a line!

