What makes Globalization of Japanese Comics Successful?


Manga + Anime = It is up to you...

Japanese comics, known as MANGA, have become popular in Asia, Europe, and America. At first glance, it would appear that American comics would have the advantage because they use English, the world’s most common language. Why has the world chosen Japanese comics rather than American comics? I think the reasons can be summarized by two points: first, the paper quality of Japanese comics is very bad; second, the Japanese comic publishers are better than American comic publishers.

For example, Kodansha’s Shonen Club, a typical sample of “boy’s culture” before World War II, had a lot of written material such as articles and novels, which were written by popular authors. Comics were crammed in alongside these other materials. In this magazine, Japanese comics such as Norakuro were serialized. This kind of publication cannot exist in the United States. Novels of popular authors cannot appear alongside heroic comics in the same…

View original post 817 more words

About Julian Peña

I'm a visual artist and student currently in progress to attaining a Bachelors of Fine Arts. I've been creating fantastical works of art since I was at the age of 13 years old. My work is transcendent beyond the material world and life itself. The paintings are polychromatic and visually exciting, while still maintaining a level of harmony. The subjects in many of these works of art may not exist at all despite what we perceive. It is a play on perception, an attempt to engage the viewers. I has earned numerous scholarships, participated in several group exhibitions, and already organized my own solo exhibition (CMYK, 2011). My meticulous and unique style is visually arresting. New ideas are constantly being examined and then visually communicated. Come check out my works at www.julianpena.com! I am is also currently part of the 253 Collective (a co-op) in downtown Tacoma. I currently live and work out of my loft in downtown Tacoma, WA.

One comment

Drop me a line!

