I’m on Cloud Nine with Art, Merchants, and Drinks!


Cloud Nine: Art, Merchants, and Drinks @ The Mix November 14th, 2012

 
The Creative Community of Tacoma has converged to bring the arts and local vendors into The Mix in downtown Tacoma (don’t get this confused with the former “ART@TheMix”). NOVEMBER 14th, 2012 WEDNESDAY 7 PM – 11 PM

We will open the night with a free dance performance by the Barefoot Collective from 7:05-7:45, then Heather Rowland’s metal-smithing demo from 7:45-8:30, then poetry reading hosted by Shelly Ann Snyder from 8:35-9:30, and form 9:35-10-35 will be the figure drawing session led by Tim Mansen of

the Tacoma Academy of Fine Art. Vendors such as Heather Rowland’s Dewy & Byrd Co (jewelry designs/art), Chris Moore’s Ill Chemist Oils (essential oils and body care), and Tanita Ross-Cady as our tarot reader for the night. There will be various activities such as body painting, live art, community paintings/drawings, contests, and of course drinks!!! We will also be introducing the art renovation at The Mix, The Cumulus Collective (a collective and collaborative effort between a local artist and I, much like Warhol‘s factory), and introduce two artists who will be showcasing their work for the month of November and December. We welcome anyone and everyone (over the age of 21 of course), so share and invite away! 

About Julian Peña

I'm a visual artist and student currently in progress to attaining a Bachelors of Fine Arts. I've been creating fantastical works of art since I was at the age of 13 years old. My work is transcendent beyond the material world and life itself. The paintings are polychromatic and visually exciting, while still maintaining a level of harmony. The subjects in many of these works of art may not exist at all despite what we perceive. It is a play on perception, an attempt to engage the viewers. I has earned numerous scholarships, participated in several group exhibitions, and already organized my own solo exhibition (CMYK, 2011). My meticulous and unique style is visually arresting. New ideas are constantly being examined and then visually communicated. Come check out my works at www.julianpena.com! I am is also currently part of the 253 Collective (a co-op) in downtown Tacoma. I currently live and work out of my loft in downtown Tacoma, WA.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: Reply2Julian

  2. Pingback: ART@TheMix2!!! « Reply2Julian

  3. Pingback: Snowpacalypse: Dawn of 2012 Art Show *POSTPONED* « Reply2Julian

  4. Pingback: 2012 in review « Reply2Julian

Drop me a line!